Geography Graduate Students

Update your student profile information

Graduate Students (A-L)

Photo of Danya Al-Saleh
Al-Saleh, Danya

Email: dalsaleh@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Kris Olds
Interests: Human geography


Photo of Evan Applegate
Applegate, Evan

Email: eapplegate@wisc.edu
Office: M390 Science Hall (Cart Lab)
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Jim Burt/Robert Roth
Interests: Editorial cartography, urban remote sensing


Photo of Rafi Arefin
Arefin, Rafi

Email: mrafiarefin@gmail.com
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Sarah Moore
Interests: Waste, Urban geography, Psychoanalytic and Emotional Geographies, Social Theory


Photo of Neslihan Atatimur
Atatimur, Neslihan

Email: atatimur@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bob Kaiser
Interests: Political and feminist geography; political ecology; visual methodologies; social activism; Turkey and the Middle East


Photo of Emily E. Atkinson
Atkinson, Emily E.

Email: eeatkinson@wisc.edu
Office: 554 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Erika Marin-Spiotta
Interests: Soil Biogeochemistry, Biodiversity, Land Change


Photo of Sarah Bennett
Bennett, Sarah

Email: scbennett@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bob Kaiser
Interests: Qualitative movement analysis, mapping, art-science collaboration, environmental art


Photo of Rachel Boothby
Boothby, Rachel

Email: boothby@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Farm-to-table restaurant sourcing, local food movement, political ecology, environmental history


Photo of Mario Bruzzone
Bruzzone, Mario

Email: bruzzone@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Keith Woodward
Interests: Transnational migration; migrant politics; community activism and social movements; Mexico and Central America; international development and development studies; labor and embodiment; care; feminist geography


Photo of Charlie Carlin
Carlin, Charlie

Email: crcarlin@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Sarah Moore/Keith Woodward
Interests: Human geography


Photo of Ritodhi Chakraborty
Chakraborty, Ritodhi

Email: rchakrabort5@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Stephen Young
Interests: Climate change and Land Use Change in the Himalayas, Youth Networks, Vulnerability and Resilience, Science and Technology Studies, Climate Modelling


Photo of David Chambers
Chambers, David

Email: dmorganchambers@gmail.com
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: Human Geography; Asian Studies


Photo of Kelly Wanjing Chen
Chen, Kelly Wanjing

Email: wchen275@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Stephen Young
Interests: Human geography


Photo of YuYing Chen
Chen, YuYing

Email: chen449@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Jim Burt
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Maureen Connolly
Connolly, Maureen

Email: meconnolly3@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Mark Cooper
Cooper, Mark

Email: markcooper@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner/Jaime Peck
Interests: Environmental governance, economic geography and natural resources, science studies


Photo of Andy Davey
Davey, Andy

Email: adavey@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon (MS with Matt Turner)
Interests: Sustainable agriculture, political ecology, political theory, environmental history, and intellectual and cultural history


Photo of Cathy Day
Day, Cathy

Email: ctday@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: Impacts of climate change on agriculture, agricultural insurance, arid/semi-arid agriculture, farm/rural livelihoods, political ecology, agricultural history


Photo of Fei Du
Du, Fei

Email: fdu@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Michael Eggen
Eggen, Michael

Email: meggen@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Mutlu Ozdogan
Interests: People-Environment


Photo of Nicolle Etchart
Etchart, Nicolle

Email: netchart@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Morgan Robertson/Lisa Naughton


Photo of Jake Fleming
Fleming, Jake

Email: jefleming@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: People-environment geography, post-Soviet Central Asia, political ecology, posthumanism, property


Photo of Kramer Gillin
Gillin, Kramer

Email: kgillin@wisc.edu
Office: 460 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: People-environment, nomadic pastoralists, resource conflicts, law and geography, land tenure, Afghanistan and Central Asia


Photo of Daniel Grant
Grant, Daniel

Email: dagrant2@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: American West; historical geography; environmental history; natural hazards; disasters; risk; environmental time; landscape; water


Photo of Nathan Green
Green, Nathan

Email: wgreen@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: People-environment geography


Photo of Kristine  (Kristy) Gruley
Gruley, Kristine (Kristy)

Email: gruley@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Soils, geomorphology, Quaternary studies


Photo of Shanxin Guo
Guo, Shanxin

Email: sguo52@wisc.edu
Program: Visiting Ph.D.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: GIS, Digital Soil Mapping, Remote Sensing, Lake area monitoring


Photo of Jeff Hatzel
Hatzel, Jeff

Email: hatzel@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu


Photo of Duanyang Jing
Jing, Duanyang

Email: djing3@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Qunying Huang
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Jing Jiu
Jiu, Jing

Email: jliu93@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: GIS


Photo of Yanghui Kang
Kang, Yanghui

Email: ykang38@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Mutlu Ozdogan
Interests: Remote sensing in agriculture; Crop yield prediction.


Photo of Chase Kasmerchak
Kasmerchak, Chase

Email: cckasmerchak@wisc.edu
Office: 408 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Soil and fluvial geomorphology, hydrology, geospatial statistical analysis, remote sensing


Photo of Niwaeli Kimambo
Kimambo, Niwaeli

Email: kimambo@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Lisa Naughton/Matt Turner
Interests: People-environment geography


Photo of Erin Kitchell
Kitchell, Erin

Email: ekitchell@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: Land tenure, land use and management in drylands, Sahelian agropastoral systems, urbanization in Africa, political ecology


Photo of Caitlin Kontgis
Kontgis, Caitlin

Email: kontgis@wisc.edu
Office: Enzyme Institute (SAGE), Room 207
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Annemarie Schneider
Interests: Remote sensing, food security, climate change, urban expansion


Photo of Jess L'Roe
L'Roe, Jess

Email: jelong@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Lisa Naughton
Interests: People-Environment geography


Photo of Laura Lawler
Lawler, Laura

Email: llawler2@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Matt Turner/Morgan Robertson
Interests: People-environment geography


Photo of Jae-Youl Lee
Lee, Jae-Youl

Email: lee14@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Kris Olds
Interests: Economic and Urban geography: Networks, Global trade, Restructuring, and regional re-development


Photo of Christopher Limburg
Limburg, Christopher

Email: cjlimburg@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon/Matt Turner
Interests: Research Area: Nature/Culture, Place, Space, Buddhism, Himalaya, Water, Nagas, Other visions of landscape


Photo of Henry Loope
Loope, Henry

Email: loope@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Quaternary geology and geomorphology


Related information:

Graduate Students (M-Z)

Photo of Puttaporn Areeprachakun
Areeprachakun, Puttaporn

Email: areeprachaku@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Office: 416 Science Hall
Interests: The impacts of racialized boundaries on immigrant workers in Thai society


Photo of Nick Lally
Lally, Nick

Email: nicklally@gmail.com
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Keith Woodward
Interests: Human geography


Photo of Han Liu
Liu, Han

Email: hliu255@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu


Photo of Fei Ma
Ma, Fei

Email: fma4@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Physical geography


Photo of Adam Mandelman
Mandelman, Adam

Email: mandelman@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Environmental history, science and technology studies, political ecology, cultural geography, environmental health, wetlands, borders and borderlands


Photo of Rachel McGraw
McGraw, Rachel

Email: rmcgraw@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Kris Olds
Interests: Cultural, economic and political geography, globalization and higher education


Photo of Samuel Munoz
Munoz, Samuel

Email: semunoz@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Jack Williams
Office: 201 Science Hall
Interests: Paleoecology, historical ecology, human-environment interaction, geoarchaeology


Photo of Garrett Nelson
Nelson , Garrett

Email: ggnelson@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Landscape and ideology, parkland and gardens, futurism and utopias, theory, historical-cultural geography, rural studies, North America, socialist Europe, Modernism


Photo of Chelsea  Nestel
Nestel, Chelsea

Email: nestel@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartography, geography of the classical world, the spatial humanities


Photo of Eric Nost
Nost, Eric

Email: nost@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Morgan Robertson
Interests: Political ecology, ecosystem service markets, ecological design, climate adaptation and law, (big) data and the environment, mixed-methods research, GIS, US


Photo of Elsa Noterman
Noterman, Elsa

Email: noterman@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Keith Woodward
Interests: Human geography


Photo of Jason Nu
Nu, Jason

Email: nu@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Kris Olds/Bob Kaiser
Interests: Urban geography; the global city; the sustainable city; the production, politics, meanings and representations of the urban built environment; mega-events, mega-projects; Brazil; Scandinavia


Photo of Caroline Rose
Rose, Caroline

Email: cmr.rose@gmail.com
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: GIS use in Wilderness Search and Rescue, Geocollaboration, Distributed Cognition


Photo of Heather Rosenfeld
Rosenfeld, Heather

Email: hrosenfeld@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Sarah Moore
Interests: Hybridity, labor, and infrastructure; critical GIS; information theory and the body; feminism and feminist geography; science and technology studies; animals


Photo of Karen Russ
Russ, Karen

Email: kruss@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Climate change, paleoclimate, the response of the hydrological cycle to global warming


Photo of Carl Sack
Sack, Carl

Email: northlandiguana@gmail.com
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartography/GIS, Lake Superior mining impacts


Photo of Aaron Schuck
Schuck, Aaron

Email: aarondschuck@gmail.com
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: Cartography/GIS/Remote Sensing


Photo of William Shattuck
Shattuck, William

Email: wshattuck@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: People-Environment, Smallholder agriculture in Southeast Asia


Photo of Rebecca Summer
Summer, Rebecca

Email: rsummer@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Urban and cultural geography, environmental history, historic preservation, architectural history, public history


Photo of Peter Swift
Swift, Peter

Email: pswift@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: People-Environment


Photo of Laura Szymanski
Szymanski, Laura

Email: lszymanski@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Erika Marin-Spiotta
Office: 413 Science Hall, Lab: Room 230
Interests: Physical geography: soil carbon stabilization, biogeochemistry, ecosystem dynamics


Photo of Robin Tolochko
Tolochko, Robin

Email: tolochko@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.(Cart/GIS)
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Ruth Trumble
Trumble, Ruth

Email: rtrumble@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Robert Kaiser
Interests: Human Geography


Photo of Elliot Vaughan
Vaughan, Elliot

Email: evaughan2@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Erika Marin-Spiotta
Interests: Physical geography


Photo of Pao Vue
Vue, Pao

Email: pdvue@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: People-Environment Relationship, Wildlife Conservation, Sustainabilty and Forest Restoration in Southeast Asia


Photo of Tim Wallace
Wallace, Tim

Email: twallace2@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Jim Burt
Interests: Cartography, Design, History of Cartography


Photo of Yue Wang
Wang, Yue

Email: ywang327@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Jack Williams
Interests: Paleoecology, Climate Change


Photo of Ben Watson
Watson, Ben

Email: biwatson@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Jack Williams
Interests: Physical geography


Photo of Mikaela Weisse
Weisse, Mikaela

Email: mweisse@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Lisa Naughton
Interests: People-environment geography, land use/ land cover change, Amazon


Photo of Jeremy White
White, Jeremy

Email: jjwhite4@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Jim Burt
Interests: Interactive cartography, information visualization, techniques for spatio-temporal synthesis


Photo of Allen Hai Xiao
Xiao, Allen Hai

Email: hxiao35@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bob Kaiser
Interests: Political economy of China-Africa links, Transnational migration, Informal economy, Embeddedness; Regional focus: West Africa, esp. Nigeria


Photo of Yu Yong
Yong, Yu

Email: yongyu@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bob Ostregren
Interests: Human geography


Photo of Zidong Zhang
Zhang, Zidong

Email: zzhang457@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.Cat/GIS
Advisor: Qunying Huang


Photo of Guiming Zhang
Zhang, Guiming

Email: gzhang45@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: GIScience; Environmental Modelling with GIS Applications; Wildlife Habitat Mapping