Geography Graduate Students

Update your student profile information

Graduate Students (A-L)

Photo of Leanne Abraham
Abraham, Leanne

Email: labraham2@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Annemarie Schneider


Photo of Douglas Adams
Adams, Douglas

Email: dadams3@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Keith Woodward


Photo of Danya Al-Saleh
Al-Saleh, Danya

Email: dalsaleh@wisc.edu
Office: 464 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Kris Olds and Sarah Moore
Interests: Higher education, knowledge production, oil and gas industry, ethnographic methods, Middle East, social theory


Photo of Evan Applegate
Applegate, Evan

Email: eapplegate@wisc.edu
Office: 413 Science Hall
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Jim Burt/Robert Roth
Interests: Editorial cartography, urban remote sensing


Photo of Mohammed Rafi  Arefin
Arefin, Mohammed Rafi

Email: marefin@wisc.edu
Office: 550 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Sarah Moore
Interests: Geographies of Waste, Garbage and Discards; Urban Geography; Psychoanalytic Geography; Social Theory; Development Studies; Middle East.


Photo of Neslihan Atatimur
Atatimur, Neslihan

Email: atatimur@wisc.edu
Office: 409 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bob Kaiser
Interests: Political Geography, Feminist Geography, Social Movements, Visual Methodologies, Turkey and the Middle East


Photo of Anna Beck
Beck, Anna

Email: anbeck@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Sarah Moore


Photo of Sarah Bennett
Bennett, Sarah

Email: scbennett@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bob Kaiser
Interests: Qualitative movement analysis, mapping, art-science collaboration, environmental art


Photo of Rachel Boothby
Boothby, Rachel

Email: boothby@wisc.edu
Office: 418 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Farm-to-table restaurant sourcing, local food movement, political ecology, environmental history


Photo of Mario Bruzzone
Bruzzone, Mario

Email: bruzzone@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Keith Woodward
Interests: Migration; labor geographies; feminist geographies; social movements and activism; violence


Photo of Li Can
Can, Li

Email: 2014lican@tongji.edu.cn
Program: Ph.D.
Interests: World city network(system), Global Cities.


Photo of Charlie Carlin
Carlin, Charlie

Email: crcarlin@wisc.edu
Office: 412 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Sarah Moore/Keith Woodward
Interests: Human geography


Photo of Ritodhi Chakraborty
Chakraborty, Ritodhi

Email: rchakrabort5@wisc.edu
Office: 408 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Stephen Young
Interests: Climate change and Land Use Change in the Himalayas, Youth Networks, Vulnerability and Resilience, Science and Technology Studies, Climate Modelling


Photo of David Chambers
Chambers, David

Email: dmorganchambers@gmail.com
Office: 404 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: Political Ecology, Political Geography, Cultural Geography, Southeast Asia, Hmong Studies, Space and Place


Photo of Kelly Wanjing Chen
Chen, Kelly Wanjing

Email: wchen275@wisc.edu
Office: 550 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Stephen Young
Interests: Economic geography, development study, Chinese outward investment, Laos


Photo of YuYing Chen
Chen, YuYing

Email: chen449@wisc.edu
Office: 408 Science Hall
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Jim Burt
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Andy Davey
Davey, Andy

Email: adavey@wisc.edu
Office: 418 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Environmental, intellectual, and cultural history; environmental and place-based education; religion and nature; food systems; and political theory


Photo of Cathy Day
Day, Cathy

Email: ctday@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: Impacts of global change on agriculture, agricultural insurance, arid/semi-arid agriculture, farm/rural livelihoods, political ecology, agricultural history


Photo of Fei Du
Du, Fei

Email: fdu@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Michael Eggen
Eggen, Michael

Email: meggen@wisc.edu
Office: 550 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Mutlu Ozdogan
Interests: People-Environment


Photo of Nicolle Etchart
Etchart, Nicolle

Email: netchart@wisc.edu
Office: 464 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Morgan Robertson/Lisa Naughton
Interests: Agrarian and environmental change, politics of climate change, Latin America. political ecology, political economy of development, social theory


Photo of Scott Farley
Farley, Scott

Email: scottsfarley@gmail.com
Office: 464 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Jack Williams/Rob Roth
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of David Fastovich
Fastovich, David

Email: fastovich@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Jack Williams


Photo of Jake Fleming
Fleming, Jake

Email: jefleming@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: People-environment geography, post-Soviet Central Asia, political ecology, posthumanism, property, science and technology studies


Photo of Kramer Gillin
Gillin, Kramer

Email: kgillin@wisc.edu
Office: 460 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: Pastoral mobility, land tenure, environmental governance, legal pluralism, Islamic law and economics, land use change, remote sensing, development, and "resource conflicts".


Photo of Daniel Grant
Grant, Daniel

Email: dagrant2@wisc.edu
Office: 404 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Historical geography, environmental history, disaster studies, water, literary nonfiction, American West


Photo of W. Nathan Green
Green, W. Nathan

Office: 412 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: Critical development studies (microfinance, land titling, hydropower dams), political ecology, science and technology studies, Cambodia, Southeast Asian Studies


Photo of Alicia Adelle Iverson
Iverson, Alicia Adelle

Email: aiverson3@wisc.edu
Office: Cartography Lab
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartographic Design, Geographical Analysis, Narrative Mapping, Refugee Movements/Human Rights Crises


Photo of Jing Jiu
Jiu, Jing

Email: jliu93@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: GIS


Photo of Yanghui Kang
Kang, Yanghui

Email: ykang38@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Mutlu Ozdogan
Interests: Remote sensing in agriculture; Crop yield prediction.


Photo of Meghan Kelly
Kelly, Meghan

Email: mkelly22@wisc.edu
Office: 416 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Rob Roth
Interests: Cartography, critical cartography, feminist theory, borders and political geography


Photo of Niwaeli Kimambo
Kimambo, Niwaeli

Email: kimambo@wisc.edu
Office: 544 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Lisa Naughton/Matt Turner
Interests: East african environmental conservation, ecology of mid-elevation forests, rural-urban links and impacts on forests, drivers of land use change, quantitative spatial analysis


Photo of Erin Kitchell
Kitchell, Erin

Email: ekitchell@wisc.edu
Office: 544 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Matt Turner
Interests: Land tenure, land use and management in drylands, Sahelian agropastoral systems, urbanization in Africa, political ecology


Photo of Nick Lally
Lally, Nick

Email: nlally@wisc.edu
Office: 401 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Keith Woodward
Interests: Software studies, social movements, visual studies, social and spatial theory, critical GIS


Photo of Laura Lawler
Lawler, Laura

Email: llawler2@wisc.edu
Office: 417 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Morgan Robertson
Interests: Refugee resettlement, agriculture, political ecology, development studies, knowledge politics, diverse economies, public engagement with food systems


Photo of Luke Leavitt
Leavitt, Luke

Email: ldleavitt@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Keith Woodward


Photo of Zhe Yu Lee
Lee, Zhe Yu

Email: zlee27@wisc.edu
Office: 417 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Ian Baird and Morgan Robertson
Interests: political ecology; critical development studies; science and technology studies; environmental history; biopolitics; social studies of capitalism/neoliberalism; global environment/development governance; alter-globalization and agrarian social movements; Southeast Asia


Photo of Han Liu
Liu, Han

Email: hliu255@wisc.edu
Office: 440 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu


Photo of Xinyi Liu
Liu, Xinyi

Email: xliu636@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Qunying Huang
Interests: Cartography/GIS, social media, data mining


Photo of Henry Loope
Loope, Henry

Email: loope@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Quaternary geology and geomorphology


Related information:

Graduate Students (M-Z)

Photo of Fei Ma
Ma, Fei

Email: fma4@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Physical geography


Photo of Rachel McGraw
McGraw, Rachel

Email: rmcgraw@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Kris Olds
Interests: Cultural, economic and political geography, globalization and higher education


Photo of Kevin McKeehan
McKeehan, Kevin

Email: kmckeehan@wisc.edu
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Physical geography, soil geomorphology, pedology, prairie/grassland ecosystems, dune activation/stabilization, OSL, GIS.


Photo of Starr Moss
Moss, Starr

Email: shmoss@wisc.edu
Office: 409 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Chelsea  Nestel
Nestel, Chelsea

Email: nestel@wisc.edu
Office: 416 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartography, geography of the classical world, the spatial humanities


Photo of Eric Nost
Nost, Eric

Email: nost@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Morgan Robertson
Interests: Political ecology, commodification, wetlands, (big) data and the environment, mixed-methods research, and interactive visualization


Photo of Elsa Noterman
Noterman, Elsa

Email: noterman@wisc.edu
Office: 544 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Keith Woodward
Interests: The commons; commoning; property; critical and feminist geographies; social reproduction; affordable housing; critical pedagogy; social movements and activism


Photo of Jason Nu
Nu, Jason

Email: nu@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Kris Olds/Bob Kaiser
Interests: Urban geography; the global city; the sustainable city; the production, politics, meanings and representations of the urban built environment; mega-events, mega-projects; Brazil; Scandinavia


Photo of Areeprachakun Puttaporn
Puttaporn, Areeprachakun

Email: areeprachaku@wisc.edu
Office: 480 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: The impacts of racialized boundaries on immigrant workers in Thai society


Photo of Heather Rosenfeld
Rosenfeld, Heather

Email: hrosenfeld@wisc.edu
Office: 404 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Sarah Moore
Interests: Hybridity, labor, and infrastructure; critical GIS; information theory and the body; feminism and feminist geography; science and technology studies; animals


Photo of Karen Russ
Russ, Karen

Email: kruss@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Joe Mason
Interests: Climate change, paleoclimate, the response of the hydrological cycle to global warming


Photo of Carl Sack
Sack, Carl

Email: northlandiguana@gmail.com
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartography/GIS, Lake Superior mining impacts


Photo of Chris Scheele
Scheele, Chris

Email: cjscheele@wisc.edu
Office: 413 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Qunying Huang
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Aaron Schuck
Schuck, Aaron

Email: aarondschuck@gmail.com
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: Cartography/GIS/Remote Sensing


Photo of William Shattuck
Shattuck, William

Email: wshattuck@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: Agriculture, community, political activity, sense of identity in southern Thailand


Photo of Zihan Song
Song, Zihan

Email: zsong57@wisc.edu
Office: 413 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Akarath (Ake) Soukhaphon
Soukhaphon, Akarath (Ake)

Email: soukhaphon@wisc.edu
Office: 408 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: Heritage Tourism, Lower Mekong Subregion Water Politics and Cultural Landscapes in Southeast Asia (Laos)


Photo of Rebecca Summer
Summer, Rebecca

Email: rsummer@wisc.edu
Office: 417 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bill Cronon
Interests: Urban and cultural geography, environmental history, historic preservation, architectural history, public history


Photo of Peter Swift
Swift, Peter

Email: pswift@wisc.edu
Office: 550 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: People-Environment


Photo of Laura Szymanski
Szymanski, Laura

Email: lszymanski@wisc.edu
Office: 554 Science Hall; Lab - Room 230
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Erika Marin-Spiotta
Interests: Physical geography: soil carbon stabilization, biogeochemistry, ecosystem dynamics


Photo of Ross Thorn
Thorn, Ross

Email: rthorn@wisc.edu
Program: M.S. Cart/GIS
Advisor: Robert Roth


Photo of Ruth Trumble
Trumble, Ruth

Email: rtrumble@wisc.edu
Office: 412 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Robert Kaiser
Interests: Political geography, feminist methodology, southeastern Europe, art - visual and performance, peacebuilding, flood/disaster recovery


Photo of Elliot Vaughan
Vaughan, Elliot

Email: evaughan2@wisc.edu
Office: 401 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: MarĂ­n-Spiotta
Interests: Physical geography, ecosystem ecology, biogeochemistry, land use change


Photo of Stepha Velednitsky
Velednitsky, Stepha

Email: stephanie.velednitsky@gmail.com
Office: 401 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Sarah Moore
Interests: Digital technology production, groundwater, political ecology, critical race theory, feminist science studies, GIS, Middle East


Photo of Kristen Vincent
Vincent, Kristen

Email: kvincent2@wisc.edu
Office: 413 Science Hall
Program: M.S.
Advisor: Robert Roth
Interests: Cartography/GIS


Photo of Pao Vue
Vue, Pao

Email: pdvue@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ian Baird
Interests: People-Environment Relationship, Wildlife Conservation, Sustainabilty and Forest Restoration in Southeast Asia


Photo of Yue Wang
Wang, Yue

Email: ywang327@wisc.edu
Office: 550 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Jack Williams
Interests: Paleoecology, Climate Change


Photo of Jeremy White
White, Jeremy

Email: jjwhite4@wisc.edu
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Jim Burt
Interests: Interactive cartography, information visualization, techniques for spatio-temporal synthesis


Photo of Allen Xiao (Kóládé)
Xiao (Kóládé), Allen

Email: hxiao35@wisc.edu
Office: 412 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Bob Kaiser/Matt Turner
Interests: Place, Identities; Ethnicities, Yorùbá Culture; Urbanization, Urban Space; (Im)migration, Mobilities; China-Africa links; Regional focus: Nigeria, esp. Yorùbáland


Photo of Guiming Zhang
Zhang, Guiming

Email: gzhang45@wisc.edu
Office: 416 Science Hall
Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: A-Xing Zhu
Interests: GIScience